Queer Press Grant 2014 Now Open!

by May 31, 2014News0 comments

UPDATE: Deadline for propsals has ended.

LOS ANGELES, CA – Prism Comics, the leading non-profit organization supporting LGBT comics, graphic novels, comics creators and readers, has announced the opening of submissions for the 2014 Prism Comics Queer Press Grant, Prism’s annual grant to LGBT comics self-publishers. The deadline for proposals is Monday, September 1, 2014. The Award is to be announced at the Alternative Press Expo in San Francisco October 4-5, 2014.


Did you know that Prism Comics offers an annual financial grant to help aspiring LGBT comics creators publish and promote their comics accomplish this goal? The Grant is funded by donations from readers, established creators with the desire to help those just starting out, and fans who want to see more LGBT stories get published.

It’s an exciting time for LGBT comics creators. Every day there are new artists and writers creating comics which present the wide diversity of LGBT experience with stories of coming out, personal relationships, family relationships, LGBT youth, transgender subjects, humor, sci-fi, fantasy and more. Great works of serious literary merit, but although the comics industry has begun to embrace LGBT comics, it is still difficult and expensive for independent and aspiring comics creators to get their comics into the hands of readers. The Queer Press Grant helps self-publishing LGBT comics creators accomplish this goal.

Prism Comics will be exhibiting at San Diego Comic-Con July 24-27, 2014 (Booth 2144). In addition to promoting and raising funds for the Queer Press Grant, Prism Comics will be presenting panels and offering portfolio review by noted comics professionals for comics creators and those interested in submitting for the Queer Press Grant. Please check the Prism website in early July for a list of comics creators who are scheduled to do portfolio review and appear at the Prism Comics booth.

Previous recipients of the Prism Comics Queer Press Grant include:

Steve Macisaac 2005

Megan Rose Gedris 2006

Justin Hall & Tommy Roddy 2007

Pam Harrison & Ed Luce 2008

Eric Orner 2009

Jon Macy 2010

Tana Ford 2010

Robert Kirby 2011

Christine Smith & Blue Deliquanti 2012

Hazel Newlevant 2013

For more information on The Queer Press Grant, how to submit for the Grant and Prism Comics please visit Grant section. Jon Macy is Prism Comics Queer Press Grant Chairperson and can be reached at jon@prismcomics.org.

If you would like to show your support for LGBT comics please visit Donate section.