by Apr 10, 2017News0 comments

BingoLoveCharactersANAHEIM, CA – The recipient of the 2017 Prism Comics Queer Press Grant was announced at the Queers, Comics & Social Justice panel by Prism Comics Queer Press Grant chair Elizabeth Beier, at Wondercon.

This year’s winner is Tee Franklin for Bingo Love. “You’d be hard-pressed to find any Disabled Black Queer women making comics. This is the reason why I wanted to tell a story like Bingo Love,” says Tee Franklin. A #BlackComicsMonth advocate, Tee hopes her story will let Black youth know it’s okay to be queer, and strongly represent seniors.

“We are thrilled to support Bingo Love because it champions diversity on so many counts. The artwork is expressive, the characters and writing are compelling, and Tee is a powerful and passionate advocate for the project.” says Elizabeth Beier, Prism Comics Queer Press Grant Chair.

The Queer Press Grant is awarded to assist comics creators in self publishing comics with LGBT characters or themes. Entries are judged first and foremost by artistic merit, followed by concerns such as financial need, proposal presentation, and the project’s contribution to the LGBT community. They are reviewed by the Prism Board, past recipients of the Grant, and Prism’s Advisory Board.

The Queer Press Grant is an all volunteer organization funded entirely by donations from comic book professionals and readers. Since its inception, the Queer Press Grant has been awarded to:

2017: Tee Franklin – Bingo Love
2016: Elizabeth Beier – Bisexual Trials and Errors | and Catherine Esguerra – Eighty Days
2015: Dave Davenport – Stray Bullet
2014: Calvin Gimpelevich and Emiliano Quale – Wolfmen
2013: Hazel Newlevant – If This Be Sin
2012: Christine Smith – The Princess | Blue Delliquanti – O Human Star
2011: Robert Kirby – Three
2010: Tana Ford – Duck | Jon Macy – Fearful Hunter
2009: Ed Luce – Wuvable Oaf | Eric Orner – Storybox
2008: Pam Harrison – House of the Muses
2007: Tommy Roddy – Pride High | Justin Hall – True Travel Tales
2006: Megan Gedris – YU+ME
2005: Steve MacIsaac – Shirtlifter