by Mar 27, 2016News0 comments


Eighty Days

LOS ANGELES, CA – The recipient of the 2016 Prism Comics Queer Press Grant was announced at the ALPHABET -10 Years of the Prism Comics Queer Press Grant panel by Prism Comics Queer Press Grant chair Jon Macy, at Wondercon. This year was a tie betwee Catherine Esguerra for Eighty Days and Elizabeth Beier for Bisexual Trials and Errors.

Eighty Days is an original manga series set in an alternate Eurasian world circa 1935. A shy levelheaded delivery pilot falls in love with a beguiling thief and radio op. Their romance is troubled when the ruling class of pilots condemns them.” -Catherine Esguerra.

“Bisexual Trials and Errors is a graphic memoir about the experiences that formed my bisexual identity in childhood, and stories about my recent dating and crushing adventures. This book will appeal most directly to bisexual and sexually fluid women, a niche market without a lot of representation” -Elizabeth Beier

“The Prism Comics Queer Press Grant, is more than just financial assistance, it celebrates queer comics creators, and brings attention to new, and often unheard, voices in our community. it’s a very exciting time for LGBTQAIU comics.” says Jon Macy, Prism Comics Queer Press Grant Chair.


Bisexual Trials and Errors

The Queer Press Grant is awarded to assist comics creators in self publishing comics with LGBT characters or themes. Entries are judged first and foremost by artistic merit, followed by concerns such as financial need, proposal presentation, and the project’s contribution to the LGBT community. They are reviewed by the Prism Board, past recipients of the Grant, and Prism’s Advisory Board.

The Queer Press Grant is an all volunteer organization funded entirely by donations from comic book professionals and readers. Since its inception, the Queer Press Grant has been awarded to:

2005: Steve MacIsaac – Shiftlifter 2010: Jon Macy – Fearful Hunter
2006: Megan Gedris – YU+ME 2011: Robert Kirby – Three
2007: Justin Hall – True Travel Tales 2012: Christine Smith – The Princess
2007: Tommy Roddy – Pride High 2012: Blue Delliquanti – O Human Star
2008: Pam Harrison – House of the Muses 2013: Hazel Newlevant – If This Be Sin
2009: Ed Luce – Wuvable Oaf 2014: Calvin Gimplevich
2009: Eric Orner – Storybox 2014: Emiliano Quale
2010: Tana Ford – Duck 2015: Dave Davenport -Stray Bullet